Showing posts with label let me tell you about my life. Show all posts
Showing posts with label let me tell you about my life. Show all posts

Sunday, 6 March 2016

The Ambitious Fool

- I hereby declare myself an ambitious fool!
Claimed she in a high and clear voice. Her ambitions had nothing to do with advancement within the societal model she loathed, the gain of power, or the amassment of riches. Grinning widely, she had a silent chuckle and thought about how much of a fool she really was. In short, she liked the idea of undertaking projects devised by her devilish mind. They promised growth of knowledge and sense of accomplishment, as well as a welcome new addition to her portfolio. The only problem she could think of was regarding her might-as-well-call-it-masochistic mind which rejoiced at throwing too much at once into the project pile, and then sitting back to enjoy the chaos that ensued. From experience, she knew that it would always come down to a tug-of-war between the desire need to keep busy and work on fulfilling  tasks and the primal need for quietness and regenerative sleep.

Alas, what could she do but try her best to reach a state of equilibrium between these two, which were demanded so voraciously by her inner self? And so, between the grind of day to day activities such as employment, house chores and a pinch of socializing, she aims to get through her latest list of projects and still get enough rest to not feel like a zombie on a daily basis.

The first step towards the realization of this goal is to limit the amount of time wasted on distractions that actually don't matter. For instance, aimlessly browsing the internet too often.

The second step is to keep a list of the projects that demand to be accomplished, and then arrange them by priority. Hence, here is the list of projects for the month (or two months? It might very well be too much, she is a fool after all, and has a sly keenness to overfill her plate):

- Class plan

- Class display material
- Actual class material
- Chart of scene breakdown for the opera
- Costume list for the opera
- Costume renderings for the opera
- The new scarf project which is, as usual, way too complicated
- Feather-fabric dress
- Two flower crowns for Spring
- High-waisted corduroy pants
- Using up some fabric from the stash for its intended purpose

Nothing is highlighted in red - yet. Orange means that it needs to be completed by the end of March. Yellow indicates that it must be completed sometime in April, possibly. Green denotes mostly personal projects, the ones that would be nice to get to, but if not, it's not a tragedy.
That is a good way to linger in a sane state of mind.

Sunday, 21 February 2016

Chasm

Have you ever felt like you were standing on a ledge; at the edge of a chasm; a deep precipice beckoning? Not that you would jump, because there is no need to jump. A simple step forward will catapult you into a new chapter. There is no dropping down, falling, waiting to hit the bottom. But rather, and impression of accelerating through the air, as if propulsed by some invisible force at your back, pushing you further and further away from everything you've known and experienced up to this point in your life.

It's easy. Lift your foot, move it forward, and take that step. Suddenly, tumbling, screaming, laughing, you can't be stopped. What awaits on the other side of the abyss? What mysteries? What new scenarios?

Of course, that's all in your head. Your imagination runs loose and wild, swirling, up and up and around, exploring the possibilities. Oh what an exhilarating feeling! What exuberance!

Grounded. You are grounded, you haven't moved. Still, you linger on the edge. There is only one direction, and that is forward. You cannot go back. Can't retain what was, must embrace what will be. It's terrifying. You breathe slowly, trying to focus your mind on the next step you must take. Still you linger. Always linger. Although you desperately want a new future, a new life, you cannot help but grab at the tatters of your past. Melancholia already has a hold of you. Your fears have their claws buried so deep into your flesh that your feet are glued to the piece of earth on which you are standing.

Any moment now. It takes courage to let go. You feel a movement, a rumble under your feet. You couldn't act fast enough, so the world is pushing you forward. The ground is no longer beneath your feet. your body feels weightless as wind twirls around you. The edge of the chasm on which you were just standing is shrinking rapidly behind you. No point in looking back. Your future awaits.

Good luck to you, my friend.

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

2016 resolution: Destroy

I've been mulling over this for a good chunk of the day. It's also been on my mind for a few nights this past week, turning into low-level anxiety attacks and insomnia.

I'm stuck. Metaphorically as well as literally. I'm stuck in this vicious cycle that is supposed to be life. At least by our North American standards and the shitty way it has unfolded for my generation.
On this unsustainable system which operates on debt, I'm infinitely stuck. The tunnel curls on itself and doesn't let me see the end - will it ever I ask.

I'm incredibly angry, and incessantly exhausted. I know it's the case for several of my peers - toiling away 50 to 60 hours a week, juggling jobs, trying to make ends meet. For what? To feed into this idiotic system. We get in debt to pay for school, then once we're out of school, we have to pay back our loans. Simple concept, makes a lot of sense. Pair this with an economy that has been stalled for almost a decade, and which apparently is going down the drain yet again - though were we ever able to get back to a stable situation between then and now; no - and you've got a recipe for success. Jobs are hard to get, and when we do have jobs, they pay very little. Trying to live on a small income while paying of student debt is nearly impossible.

In Halifax, for instance, median prices for appartments are $600-700 a month. Unless you live with a ton of other people, or live in a shit-hole, or both. At near-minimum wage, that's almost half of one's income. Add to that utilities, food, and all the other shebang, not much left. And then come the loans. Fuck them. Fuck all of it.

I'm stuck. I can't move forward. I dream of the day when I'll break out of this circle. Step aside, let it roll on, like the wheel of misfortune that it truly is. I want to escape, run away to some faraway place, never come back. Abandon everything behind, and create a new life some new place.

These are only dreams, and probably the only thing worth living for at the moment. Nothing rouses passion like anger. And I'm so angry at my own powerlessness that it fuels my inner fire. I want to destroy everything of that system which keeps us chained. Rebuild anew. Create a world where young people aren't so fucking hindered as soon as they reach adulthood. How are we supposed to build a better tomorrow if we can't even afford our today?

Monday, 25 May 2015

The German Experience Through My Glasses

In just a few days, my contract as a language assistant – Fremdsprachassistentin is the German title, FSA in short – will be over. It will be
time to empty my room into my suitcase, put on my boots, give the apartment key to my roommate and definitely leave this town that I called home for the past nine months.

As a teenager I dreamed of coming to Germany, I listened to German music, I painted the flag on my nails. I felt such a strong draw that when I entered university I started right away with German classes and declared a German major. Fast-forward a few years, I switched into a double major with German as my second subject, and successfully graduated from university. From my very first year in uni, my German professors told me about a programme with which I could move to Germany and teach English in a school after I graduated. I applied, I got in. Somewhat following a dream I suppose.

Before I arrived, I didn’t have any specific set of expectations, so I can’t say that my expectations haven’t been met, or that they’ve been exceeded. In fact, it’s probably a good thing that I didn’t have any, because I have been so tremendously let down anyhow. I would have been utterly shattered if I had had any to begin with.

A few factors have certainly contributed to my dissatisfaction with the past few months. Though I want to clear beforehand that I am extremely grateful for the experience, all the opportunities for travels and the personal growth that resulted from it. I’m not dissing Germany as a country, I’m not saying don’t go there it sucks. I’m merely sharing my experience of the country and the programme that I did. So, the factors are:
1 – I’m in conservative East Germany, because yes, there is still a very distinct division in the mentalities between East and West, and from what I was told, Weimar is actually not too bad compared to other cities in Thuringia.
2 – The environment in which I found myself wasn’t great for meeting, well, anyone. I was surrounded by kids 10 to 18 years, and by teachers 33 and above. I reached out on the Bauhaus University facebook page and on couchsurfing, and succeeded in making a few friends, though it took me months.
3 – I can be quite shy when out of my element and fettered by a lack of alcohol in my bloodstream. Plus, German is DIFFICULT, with my insecurities about the language in the first few months, no wonder I was heading straight for disaster.

The first person who greeted me in my new home was one of the girls that was living in one of my roommates room in September. I got along with the girls quite well, although we had some communication difficulties.

The next person that I encountered was my Betreuerin – the teacher in charge of me – she brought me some basic necessities (sheets, pillow, blanket, towels..) as well as a map on how to get to the school the next day, and a book passed on by one of her colleagues titled “how to be German”.

I read all the 50 steps in the book, but they’re not as much steps as much as pieces of information to understand some aspects of German culture. No matter how well you understand and value that knowledge, it doesn’t help you to actually become German.

The first month, I was adjusting to my new surroundings and I didn’t mind spending a lot of time with only myself for company. Then, when I grew tired of being alone, I tried to make some more friends. One friend that I made during the first week here invited me to some evenings now and then, where I mingled with Germans and realized how absolutely incompatible – and incapable of carrying a conversation with them – I was.

Thankfully, my purpose in Germany was not only to fail socially, but also to educate young minds in the terrible language that is English. The school was really great. It was so fantastic to be working with such a diverse range of age groups; from the little ones in grade 5 to the borderline adults in grade 12, through all sorts of teenagers. Personally, the groups I like working the most with where grades 5 through 7, for three silly reasons. Firstly, those children are ridiculously adorable, secondly they are still curious and interested in learning, and thirdly because they were always so happy to see me, and it’s hard not to crack the biggest smile when you walk in a class and all the kids shout your name and start clapping. How could I possibly not like them? I also really enjoyed working with the 12th graders, because they probably benefited the most from having conversation groups. I value working in smaller groups rather than larger ones, and the students were really open and unrestrained in their speech around me – probably due to our closeness in age and the fact that I don’t really look like a teacher at all. The teenagers were definitely a mixed bunch; some were absolutely indifferent, some cracked inappropriate sexual jokes, some were really endearing, some really impressed me, some really annoyed me. All in all, normal behaviour for teenagers. It’s incredible to think that I’ve been working at the school since September and that already, my time at the school has come to an end. I’ll certainly miss the students (most of them) and the teachers (all of them) with whom I’ve worked.

My roommates are also very German, in the fact that they are very nice, but they keep to themselves a lot, and we didn’t really do much of anything together. (For the first term of university, which ends in February. In April I had a new roommate with whom I’ve spent time and we get along well.) Although we share a very small apartment between the three of us, I can’t say I really know them that well. The apartment itself isn’t exactly conducive to socializing. The kitchen is ridiculously small, and only has a counter with two chairs, whereas we are three living here, and there is no living room or otherwise shared hanging-out space. (It made me realize how much I value the function of a living room and a kitchen with an actual table.)

Finally, I did make friends with a number of international students. We went to a metal concert, had some house parties, went to the opera and the theatre, visited a 12th century castel in West Thuringia… I had a lot of fun with them, and it made me realize that I was hanging out almost exclusively with non-Germans, and that the Germans with whom I spent time had spent a considerable amount of time in Ausland – that’s a beautifully concise word that means in a foreign country or countries. I haven’t quite decided if that meant anything yet, but it leaves a very strong impression. I’m also absolutely not saying that all Germans that spend their whole life in Germany are jerks to foreigners. I’m simply stating the impressions that I have gathered by living here.

I wrote my own tips on how to successfully blend into the German crowd:
1 – Speak the language perfectly before you arrive (for your own sanity, in the East most people over 30 never learned English, so speaking German is an absolute must).
2 – Never mention that you are only there for a definite amount of time (Germans invest their time very carefully, and if they know that you’re only there for a given amount of time, chances are that they will decide not to pursue a friendship with you, because it would be wasted energy…)
3 – Learn that flirting is taken extremely seriously - so-called casual encounters are unheard of – only serious relationship are considered, and so, the Germans stick to a lengthy and complicated seduction ritual that consists of at least three instances of simple “hallo” and “tschuess” before anymore can be said, and don’t forget it might take a couple of weeks before the first hi in any case. Don’t despair, once you’ve reached step 27 – allow around 8 months to get there - you might get your first kiss, a quick, dry, simple contact of the lips… You get the picture. (This I learned from another Canadian girl that goes to university here. I’m not speaking from experience - refer to number 2, I made that mistake way too many times, and never reached further than step 6, which is still in the awkward conversation phase.)

Upon examination, I can say that my dissatisfaction with the German experience stems half from my social awkwardness and the same situation would probably have unfolded wherever I might have lived in the world, and on the other half by the German reaction to foreigners combined to their habit of keeping to their own.

On the bright side, I did get the opportunity to travel very extensively during the many German “Ferien” and many a weekends too. Whenever I ventured out of Weimar to whichever place my wanderlust took me to, I had quite a great time and met really amazing people from all over Europe the world! As much as I might have felt isolated in Weimar at times, I could never have had the same opportunities for travel had I not worked for this programme. So I am very grateful for the experience, and I am now ready to move on to another chapter in my life, which I hope, will also feature lots of traveling and will let me further my personal growth until I am happy with the person that I will have become.


Alicia and I looking fabulous in Ravensburg, Oct. 2014.

Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Family and Friends' update, Halloween 2014

Keeping in touch might not be my forte, and I can't promise about anything in the future, but here is my first vlog! I'm sure it could have been about a thousand times better, unfortunately, it isn't... Because I didn't really prepare anything, and the last time I used movie maker was for an art project in highschool, in 2009... So it's been a while. Nevertheless, here it is, my first proud video.


ps. I don't actually think the content is that great, my thoughts are scattered all over the place, and I'm not even telling you about the actual experience of teaching in Germany! What a fail of an update! *Self-critical, sarcastic laugh*
Also, I'd like to mention that despite this video seemingly showing my lack of able-ness to give a presentation, I assure you that I can give you a mighty power point presentation about Canada. :)


Friday, 17 October 2014

Okay, let’s be uncomfortable now

Now, before you read this, I will say a few words. They are very important, hence the bold font. If you get easily anxious about finances, don't read this. If thinking about money stresses you out, don't read this. In this post, I am getting completely financially naked about my student loan debt. It's uncomfortable, and brutally honest. I haven't made up any numbers, this is all the absolute truth. This is an account of my experience with financing my post-secondary education.

This is a touchy subject for many newly graduated students. Student loans. I’m not writing to complain about my specific situation, though I am going to complain about the system and the environment that created the problem in the first place. I’m not one to talk much about money. Frankly, I try not too care too much about it, I rarely discuss figures, and then, they’re never mine. I’ll mention that I’m broke, once in a while, to explain why I can’t go out, or why I always cook at home, and why I go to thrift stores instead of getting a new piece of clothing. The people that are dear to me know that I have debt, and that I don’t have much money, and the conversation usually stops there. Not even my parents know the actual amount of my debt. Why is that? Because I’m ashamed. I’m so ashamed of the fact that I decided to pursue higher education, and that I didn’t know how to manage my finances. It took a brutal wake-up call between my second and third year of university to understand what a dangerous road I was on. And an even more brutal blow came about a year ago when everything I believed to be stable fell to pieces and I couldn’t even afford my rent. I had to bite through my stubbornness and ask my parents for financial help. I’ve tried desperately to be financially independent for the past few years, and I can’t. I can’t, it’s too much pressure. I can’t handle it. I can’t even understand it. I try to put it in perspective, but it simply doesn’t work. The system is broken, and I’m one out of hundreds of thousands of students trying to crawl back to safety.

I’m in debt. In fact, I have so much debt that when spread out over 15 years, or 180 months, I would need to pay 393.50 per month to get rid of it. Oh wait, that’s not including interest. What? In plain numbers, it means that this very day, my debt stands at $70 829.53. How did this monstrous figure ever creep up so high? I bet you’re feeling very uncomfortable now.
I read about students whose debt is around $30 000, and I want to cry. I hear about those who have less than $20 000, and I’m deadly jealous. I empathise with those who are in the same boat as me. A quick google search reveals that the average student loan in Canada is about $27 000. How did mine ever get so high?

Let’s break it down, shall we. Tuition comes first, at Dalhousie, it runs around $3000 a term. My very first term, I was looking at $8445 for tuition, my room in a residence, and the meal plan offered by the university. That term, I received $4589 in loans. Not enough. I had to take out a private bank loan. Since I was going to face more or less the same situation for the duration of my studies, I took a $10 000 pro annum loan, good for four years. It took me five years to get my degree, and let me tell you, I bit and scratched hard during that final year. $44 424.08, that’s what I paid for five years of full-time education, two classes at NSCAD, and a summer course that took place in the Czech Republic.

Then comes the cost of living. I’m not living in my bedroom in my parents’ house. I moved 700 km away, because nothing at the Université de Moncton, campus d’Edmundston, was able to attract my attention for more than a half second. Result, I need an apartment, electricity, heating, internet, and phone. Aside from that first year when room and board was calculated with my student fees, I had to pay for all of that on top of my already soaring high tuition. Apartments don’t come cheap in Halifax. Landlords like to take advantage of students, and charge them absolutely ridiculous amounts of money for the convenience of having a roof above their heads. Over four years, my rent fell between $500 a month, to $764 a month. The average comes to about $587 a month, so over the remaining four years of my education, it looks like $28 176, give or take a few thousand. And then there’s groceries, and bills, and bus tickets to visit my parents, and school supplies, and unexpected spending, and douchebaggery from people I thought were friends, and break ups, and moving, and so on, and so on. Life is expensive. Stating the obvious.

I started attending university with no money. Of course, I had a part-time job for a couple of years before that. But what are 10 hours a week at $8 an hour going to do, other than cover clothes and meals out for a teenage girl? I was so proud when I bought my mini-fridge just before I moved to Halifax, it was $129, it was almost all I had in my bank account, a few weeks before starting university. I had no concept of money.

Of course I worked during the summers. My first summer, I moved back to New-Brunswick, and worked in a library, in the kids section. It was a fun job, 12 weeks of employment at 36 hours a week at minimum wage. It was a student job created by the government of New-Brunswick. Unfortunately, the apartment market is fierce in Halifax, and we had signed a May-lease for our flat. And as it was our first apartment, and no one was physically in Halifax that summer, we didn’t sublet it. Not that we could have either, everyone sublets during the summer, and the more expensive places don’t meet a great success rate at being rented out. So that summer all my government-subsidized income actually went into a greedy landlord’s pockets. The next summer I stayed in Halifax, and worked in a call centre. It was simply horrible. I made it through until the end of July before walking in one day, dropping my headset, tears streaming down my face, and quitting. The same day, I was starting a new job in the retail industry, working in one of the biggest chains in North America. I had about 20 hours a week at minimum wage during the summer, which barely covered my needs. I kept that job for a little over a year, working 20-25 hours a week while being a full time student. That was my third year. I had been denied student loans because my father retired that year, and received bonuses. That catapulted my case in the: “oh, her parents can pay for her” category. It was tough; I always worked Thursdays through Sundays, with 8 hours shifts on Saturdays and Sundays. I was always grumpy. While my roommates started drinking and partying and blasting music early on Friday nights, all I could think about was that I had be at work by 8 am on Saturdays. I couldn’t blame them either. I wanted to party with them, but I couldn’t afford to miss work because of a hangover.

That following summer, I took up a second part-time job, effectively juggling two schedules for an average of 50 hours a week, and a summer class. I worked seven days a week. I had no life. I dropped one job at the end of the summer, the one that had the least hours. I still worked close to 30 hours a week during my fourth year of university. I did receive loans that year, but as ever, they only barely covered my tuition. I kept the same job over the summer, even though I was away for one month, taking a most wonderful class about baroque culture that elated my mind and made me aware of all the things sublime that I had been oblivious to up until that point. That was one month of lost wages, and it was darn expensive to. I managed to max out my credit card with airfare and accommodations there, and returned to Canada with my last $30 in Czech Korunas. I was glad to be back at work, but business was slow during the summer, and I didn’t work as much as I had before, and so I scraped by. I eventually let go of that job too, because it was a lot of commuting, and I knew I would be overwhelmed with my last, and most intense yet, year at school. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t work. I had three part-time jobs on campus, that somehow I managed to fit into my ridiculous schedule. All in all, I would work about 12 hours a week on average, and it would jump to twice that when there were shows at the theatre, and I was required to spend my evenings dressed in black, politely asking guests for their tickets, and then sitting in the back of the theatre. It was the easiest job I’ve ever had, and I was very grateful for it too. Though ushering was sporadic, it kept me afloat. As I mentioned earlier, my bank loan was only good for four years, and by the time I started fifth year, it was all gone. My student loan was a bit more substantial that year, as a “mature” student, they no longer looked at my parents income when deciding how much lunch money they would grant me for the year. Though it’s a double-edged sword. I had to work to make ends meet, and because I worked, they decided I didn’t need help to afford life’s basic necessities that much…

Of course, I applied to bursaries. And received them steadily at a rate of one per term, starting in second year. It was only ever a few hundred dollars, but they always made me feel a little better about my situation. In November of last year, I received a bursary unexpectedly, to reward my outstanding work in costume studies. It was a life saver. I received the news during the most stressful weeks I’ve ever experienced in my life, when I had about $40 in my name, had recently moved into an overly-expensive one-bedroom apartment, to escape a very complicated situation with another even more expensive apartment… and had the course load of the overachiever that I am, with all the deadlines coming up in the same week, one after the other, like some evil mastermind had decided to make our lives a living hell.

I was also extremely mad when I found out that students who achieved a certain GPA were automatically awarded other bursaries when they had a full course load. I had a full course load, I was working extremely hard and getting stellar grades and praises from my profs. Why wasn’t I receiving one? Because of the NSCAD classes that I was required to take as part of my programme. As “courses from another institution”, they voided my eligibility to those bursaries. It made me sick with rage. I was fuming on the inside.

I made it through. In May my extremely expensive parchment from Dalhousie was mailed to my parents’ house in New-Brunswick. I decided not to attend convocation for two reasons: firstly, I didn’t want to go, I didn’t feel like the ceremony would change my feelings toward the university, which are sour at best, and secondly, I was at work when the ceremony took place. After all that, I still worked three jobs during the summer. I worked like a mad woman. I worked a full-time job, a part-time job, and an opera contract on top of that. I paid off my credit card, and built a little cushion to be able to move to Germany in September. I had many, many breakdowns during the summer. Graduating from university was anti-climactic, and left me with a sense of void.

It’s been almost six months since I finished university. I’ve been living in Germany for about six weeks now. My financial cushion is mostly gone, I have enough to cover my living expenses until the end of November, although I’m trying to convince myself that the 50€ in my wallet is all that I have until I get paid. Which I hope is soon. Student loan payments are supposed to start in a couple of weeks. I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I received a fixed salary here, which is enough for me to live on and travel a bit, though I need to tighten my budget a little, and monitor my expenses more closely. But it’s definitely not enough to afford $400 in payments every month. Before I left, I called the national student loan service of Canada, and explained my situation. Normally, I would be eligible for loan repayment help, because I have a very limited income, though there’s one small detail that disqualifies me from such help. I’m not currently living in Canada. Great. Because obviously I would give up the opportunity to live and work in Germany. I also applied for a programme that shaves back a few thousand dollars from student debt when post-secondary education is completed in a timely fashion. I heard of other people taking five years to obtain their bachelor’s, and qualifying for that help, and so I thought I would qualify too. Too optimistic? Of course. I was denied.

Which is what sparked this essay about my student loan debt story. I’m not writing to complain. I’m writing to expose the fact that I busted my ass off, I worked like a crazy person. I got a degree with straight A’s, even though I worked through my studies for the past three years. I’ve always had a roof over my head, always had heat to keep me warm, and food in my belly, and I can’t start expressing how grateful I am for those things. But God damn it, I’m still not out of that hell hole, and I won’t be for the next 15 years.

What happens to those poor fellows who have big dreams of university, and can’t afford to go? The government of Canada told me that my parents had to contribute $10 000 per year to my studies. Uhm, excuse me, my parents don’t have that money to just give me as they please. I have other siblings, there’s the house to fix, cars to pay for, insurance and bills. The last thing I want to be is another burden on my parents’ shoulders.


If it hadn’t been for that bank loan, I wouldn’t have been able to attend university at all. What can someone do without a degree nowadays? When will the people in charge of this great country that is Canada realize that post-secondary education should not be reserved to the elite. Post-secondary education is a right, and it is not okay to let universities spike their tuition and burden their students with more financial stress than ever. Why can’t Canada follow in the steps of some of the European countries such as France, Germany, and Sweden. Or closer to home, make a step in the same direction as Newfoundland, and eliminate student debt by converting loans into grants. If we pride ourselves in being such a great nation, maybe, just maybe we should start investing in our future. How are we supposed to fix the economy if students are crippled with debt as soon as they emerge, fresh-faced and dreamy from university? This situation is a great social injustice, and I am mad, and afraid, and unsure about the future. I am flustered as I type these words. How are we supposed to build a country in our image if we postpone our dreams and hopes in order to repay our loans? Post-secondary education is there to open our minds to the possibilities, to fine-tune our senses, to make us dream of a better future, to outfit us with the tools to build that future. But as soon as we graduate, we are faced with that wall, and we are chained to it, and there’s no escape.

This is my story, and I don’t doubt that there are thousands of similar stories out there. Of students outraged, and anxious. If we all wrote our stories, and sent them to Ottawa, do you think they would listen? Do you think they would realize what hardships we go through? Do you think they would try and rectify the situation? Do you think they would do anything?

Wednesday, 15 October 2014

Introversion vs. Extroversion

This topic seems very current, or at least to me it is.
I don't know what it is about it, but I've been drawn to this topic lately. What with all the random posts, the quizzes, the lists, the advice being given. How do you know you are an introvert, how do you know you are an extrovert? I admit, I've done the quizzes, I've scanned the lists, I've tried to pin-point myself down to one or the other. I give up.
Those labels just don't work. They could be compared to another topic that is very current, gender identity, though I'm using this only for the comparison, to give a reference when I say that it should be treated as a spectrum.

Up until last year, I never felt the need to try to identify with one or the other. Then suddenly my life upended itself last year and I was left with reconsidering every single aspect of myself. Well, maybe it wasn't quite so dramatic, and maybe this shares more common points with a rant than anything else. I will claim no fine penmanship, nor will I say that this is a finite statement. It is simply my complete refusal of the up-until-now given definitions of the terms. If one was to believe what information is readily available, one would classify itself in one or the other. They are effectively diametrically opposites. I hate it. Maybe that's a bit harsh. I strongly dislike it. Better.

It seems to be agreed upon that it relates to where an individual draws its energy. An introvert would find social interaction draining and would need down-time to recover, whereas an extrovert would find it exhilarating. I call bullshit. It makes no sense. This is a completely subjective piece of writing, but I find that both can be equally draining or invigorating. Why? It's tricky, but I suppose it really depends on who/what/where/how. Who you are with, what you're doing, where it's taking place, how you're feeling, and so on. Let's use an example that I'm making up right now as I type. Say that you're in a bad mood, going to do an activity that you feel lukewarm about, it's going to put a damper no matter if you're by yourself or with other people. On the other hand, if you're really excited about visiting a new place, say you found some ruins a short bike ride away from town, or visiting a museum you've never been to, the experience is bound to be elating (at best) or at least inspiring, whether or not you're alone.

Obviously, sometimes you might want to explore completely by yourself, say if you want to go at your own pace, or you think that someone else wouldn't enjoy it as much, or want to wander around as long. Absolutely fair. Personally, if I'm finding that social interaction is straining, it means I'm not spending time with the right people. If I find that being alone is straining, it's because I'm not using my time in a way that is stimulating, and that pushes me forward. Maybe it's because I haven't had the leisure of free time for the past three years, and now I find that any time is sacred and should be put to good use. Maybe it's just growing up and figuring out what you find important, and investing time and energy in only a few things and people, rather than squandering your time on mediocre activities. It sounds really harsh, but this makes more sense to me than anything else I've read.

Another example, more concrete this time, and again subjective. One evening I was feeling particularly bored, and I decided to go out. I don't really know many people in Weimar, and I'm usually perfectly contempt staying in reading a book or working on my German, and so I was a little hesitant. Going out alone is definitely not something I do often, as I know that whoever I meet probably won't leave an impression beyond those few hours. At that point, I was still mildly associating with being an introvert. Anyhow, I went out to one of the bars, and lo and behold, I had a great time. With complete strangers. Actually, complete strangers with absolutely no common interests, as there happened to be a large number of PHD chemistry students in the bar... If you look at the this scenario from the intro/extro point of view, I should have found the experience draining. Which I did not. Not that I would invest any further time in any of them, but it's an interesting thought.

I think that this whole introvert/extrovert categorisation is just to give people excuses to stay in or go out. Because really, in the end, it's what you make of each individual experience that decides if you drew energy from it, or if drew energy from you. Everyone has had to go through unpleasant social situations or conversations that left them exhausted, and everyone has gone through days they spent alone, feeling even more tired than when they woke up. I really think that it is redundant to try and say that everyone falls in one category or the other. Sorry, not sorry, but it's silly to try and categorise people this way. This has been excessively annoying me, and I hope that I'm not the only weirdo out here who thinks this way.

I have been mulling over this for a while, and maybe I'm completely wrong. Actually, I'm not even entirely sure that my argument makes total sense. Maybe this is a very poorly constructed argument, or maybe I'm missing the point completely. I'm always open to different points of view and discussion. I hope this shed some light for some people, or that it sparked a few ideas, or that at least it was a well-spent five minutes.

Sunday, 23 February 2014

Why are you so goddamned productive?

Why are you so goddamned productive? is a rhetorical question I encountered just a few times this week.

I have to say, I took advantage of my week off to create a massive to-do list, and frankly, it was a great decision. I got so many things done this week, I'm really proud of myself. And I feel much better than if I had sluggishly camped on my couch watching stupid shows all week.

I alternated working on school projects and working on my personal projects, so that I would feel like I was getting the important stuff done, and rewarding myself by working on something I really wanted to do.
For example, for school I: made and fitted a mock-up for 14th century hose (they finally fit), finished a cloak, started my 19th century waistcoat, wrote down many pages of research for my honours project, altered a linen shirt, and worked on my 18th century skirt and jacket.
For myself I: altered a skirt for a friend, altered some of my own clothes, made a whole new skirt, finished my stockings, transformed a pair of shoes to look 18th century-ish, started muddling my way through a bralette made from a lace tank top, painted a few images for the first time in weeks, and documented a week-long lipstick experiment.

Would I have been able to do all that if I didn't have a week off? Absolutely not. I totally abused my sleep schedule so that I work my heart out!

On Tuesday, I was in the studio, and one of my profs came in an said: Audrey, what the f*** are you doing in here. Go home, take time off! 
I guess in some regards, I really do work too much, but I'm not unhappy. I actually enjoy it. And I usually multitask, so I'll watch a movie AND work at the same time, so it totally counts as leisure time. If I'm not working, I tend to just take really long naps in the afternoon, which are nice once in a while, but they're really an indulgence.

What does it matter if I'm a work horse? If I feel over-worked, I'll take a few steps back. If I don't feel like that, I'll just keep going. I'm in my prime years, this is the time for me to work like crazy, develop my character and prove myself to the world. Ten years from now, I won't have the same energy levels and won't be able to power through everything in the same way.

Yes, I'm an enthusiast, a keener, I'm always the one in the back corner who springs up and says: YEA I'LL DO IT! And I mean it. If I want to carve a place for myself in this unforgiving crazy world, I have to be able to prove what I'm capable of. Green hair and everything. I want to be the best in absolutely everything I do. Perfection is my goal, and I'm aiming directly at the moon and the stars.

I do wish I had another week off now, since I've done almost all I wanted to do, and this time I would actually lazily walk along the waterfront and enjoy the peaceful quietness of mornings while sipping my coffee and listening to French classics by Édith Piaf. I guess I'll just have to wait until April.

I'll post pictures and tutorials to some of my projects in the coming week. In the meantime, I'll leave you to think about the things you'd like to accomplish but keep pushing back, on the pretext that you have no time.
Also, do you know anyone who can rock a Christian Dior jacket, green hair and mini-black lips like I do? ;)

Sunday, 9 February 2014

3 months until I graduate

I've been in university for a while. At 22, I'm in my fifth year at Dalhousie University. They call it a victory lap, and I refer to it by that name too, though it feels more like the last struggling jerks of a fish that has been out of the water for too long and is on the verge of dying... Okay, maybe a little too morbid. But sometimes it does feel that way.

I pride myself in being an excellent student. My work is always on time or early, and I put all of my heart into it. Maybe it makes me a loser without a life, but eh, I don't care and neither should anyone else.

I'm going through all of my mental lists of things I need to do before the end of the term, and it doesn't seem like that much. Then I come back to the reality of the day-to-day routine and realize how busy I really am. I'm taking my four final classes, all of which are more or less a giant sewing lab in different areas. In three of them, I get to make clothes for someone else, and luck and a bit of magic made it so that it's all for the same person. I asked one of my friends to be my model for my 19th century tailoring class, and he also happens to be in the 4th year acting class. Now it gets weird. In my fourth year Show class, I'm the cutter for one of the actors, who happens to be my friend who's also my model for tailoring. And since I'm combining my fourth and third year classes, I also get to work on the show in my third year class, where I am my own first-hand, or basically my own minion. It's a confusing and interesting time when I'm trying to sort out what goes where for those two classes. I also refer to myself as cutter Audrey and first-hand Audrey in turn, depending on the day.

Then, my fourth class is aesthetics of historical dress, or Lynn-dom. We are basically reproducing garments from the 1700's in Louisbourg after its foundation in 1713 until the English took over in 1745. I am my ow model in that class, and though it is sometimes (incredibly) painful to sit through, I'm making an effort to change my attitude toward it to enjoy the class. I do love historical reproduction, and I'm doing myself a dis-favour if I'm always in a foul mood going to that class.

I also realized that I always refer to what I'm doing in terms of century. !9th century tailoring, 18th century Lousibourg, and 14th century garments (that's show class, the department is putting on the Decameron).

Throughout all of this class-related excitement, I make it a point to work on my own projects, to bump up my portfolio. To date, I've made my first bodysuit in black burned-out velvet for circus class. Yes, circus class. I needed some sort of physical activity, and circus is just perfect. The hoop is certainly my favourite, since I seem to get lost in the silks. The rope is growing on me, and trapeze is also really fun. No upper body strength makes it an unending challenge, so until I can hold my body up using only my arms, I'll be stuck doing basic stuff.
The bodysuit is basic, a front, a back and two arms. It was my first time dabbling with stretch, and though this isn't the best fabric choice, I'm quite happy with the way it turned out.

This weekend, we had the day off on Friday, and I decided to travel to the north of the province to Cape-Breton and to visit the Louisbourg fortress with one of the student societies. I figured that it would be the cheapest way to visit it, and it would be a fun weekend. I've now learned that it doesn't always go according to plan, and instead of a weekend visiting landmarks of Cape-Breton, we spent the entire weekend eating too much food in a chalet. Good job guys. On the bright side, I went snowshoeing for the first time ever, and I had brought two projects to work on during the drive and throughout the weekend.

I'm making some 18th century stockings in silk jersey to go with my 18th century outfit. I decided to handstitch them for fun (I'll embroider them too once I get silk floss) and I got a good chunk of work done on them. It's a very funny-looking pattern, but I'm really happy with the way they look. The next thing I'll be doing after I finish them is making a little pair of shoes look like 18th century mules. The stocking reach up about half-way up my thigh, and they'll be held in place by a peach-coloured ribbon. I left it at school, and that's why I'm using a measuring tape on the picture... You get the idea. It's really nice to work with silk jersey, it's so soft. Did I mention that I looooove silk?

 Another little project I brought with me on the trip is my first pair of mitten. I finished the first one on the drive to Cape-Breton on Friday, and started the 2nd one on Saturday. It's the easiest pattern I could find, and the next logical step after mastering the giant scarf.

Future projects include the 18th century shoes I mentioned, a pair of 18th century pockets, a skirt for a friend of mine, and possibly some new miniature paintings. I only have six full days of class this week, and two days with only one class, thanks to reading break that kicks in next week. Around doing assignments and plucking away at my honours thesis, I think it leaves ample time to work on a number of these. As long as I skip on sleep, but that shouldn't be a problem.

Saturday, 28 December 2013

During the Holidays

I'm very fortunate indeed, to have a whole three weeks off for the holidays. For the last few years, I was only able to come to my hometown for a few days, then I had to go right back to Halifax for work.
Luckily, as my different little jobs are with the university this year, they ended when class ended, and will resume when classes do.

I don't recall the last time that I had three weeks of nothingness in front of me. Was it when I was still a teenager? I think so.

Anyhow, so far I've kept myself more or less busy. Definitely not at the infernal pace that I keep during school, but I'm not just sitting in the living room, though I will admit that I really like my spot on the couch.

What is there to do in Canada in Winter? Well, here are some suggestions:

1. Playing Monopoly, and not just any Monopoly. The Canadian edition, in French.
    

2. Building an insulation layer on my body for the upcoming months. Sounds gross, but I haven't stopped eating since getting here. It'll eventually get used up once I go back to Halifax and don't have time to eat.

3. Pulling out the Winter gear and going to the Ski Station for a day. First time in about five years, I did surprisingly well.

4. Thoroughly enjoying my time off. Even if it's just day-dreaming, watching the Food Network, or that series called Ancient Aliens.

5. Hanging out with my siblings. It's the first time in three years that the four of us are home at the same time.  
6. Napping on the couch. By myself, or with Stella.
                                             

7. Unwrapping Christmas presents.



8. Listening to all sorts of music. Mum likes to listen to Christmas music on the radio, and my brother recommended the new Stromae album. My sister listens to terrible things, but then she's 16...

9. Decorating the fridge.

10. Helping out with the Christmas baking. That includes preparing, baking, plating, and eating. These are two huge plates of sweets. And the containers behind them? Still half full. 

11. Enjoying the company of extended family. Playing chess, battleship and chase the puppy with them. The girl in pink is the only cousin my age. She studies in Alaska, so for the Holidays she came south... To Canada and norther Maine. Ha!



12. Catching up with friends that I haven't seen in a long time.

13. Knitting.

14. Mum decided to give Christmas dinner this year, we had twenty-something people in the house. Thank God, that's only about half of my mum's side of the family...

15. Following Christmas dinner, we have a lot of turkey leftovers. Guess who'll be eating turkey leftover in every meal for a few days? Turkey soup, turkey à la King, turkey sandwich...

16. Saying goodbye to this year's tree. After being in the house for over three weeks, it's really dry and shedding pine needles every time you look at it. We removed all of the ornaments, and put it outside on the front porch. We still have a plethora of Christmas ornaments around the house though. It's my mum's favourite time of the year.









17. Sitting by the window and watching the snow falling. It's been a fairytale holiday season so far, a truly white Christmas. It's been snowing almost every day, and we've had a few snow storms in the last two weeks.

18. Reading books, doing research for school. Can't be completely on vacation...



19. Running errands by, uhm, tad-bit chilly temperatures. Solution to fight the early morning cold? A second pair of socks.


20. Finishing a really cute rag doll.

21. Making a pillow from a piece of a quilt, and making a fluffy hair-bow. Yes fluffy!


Monday, 11 November 2013

You say its November already?

It feels like I'm just waking up now, from a really long sleep that started in September... No, wait... It's not a dream, it's just life. My world turned upside down, and it's finally starting to straighten out.

Apparently the early twenties is the best time in a person's life for big changes, because at that time we're still fairly malleable and can easily bend this way and that to adapt ourselves to new situations, or stressful ones, or downright crazy ones.

It's insane to look back at the last two months, and wonder what the hell happened.
At the end of August, I quit a job that had since long stopped being rewarding, only to find myself with 3 part-time jobs two weeks later. Those three don't feel like jobs at all, and they are woven through my class schedule in such a way that I have (most) evenings and weekends off. And by off, I mean that I can be at the studio doing homework...
At the same time, I left a longtime partner, whom I thought to be "the one". Now I believe that the concept of "the one" doesn't even exist. In this state of me, myself and I, I'm learning how to be dependent on no one else for my own happiness.
Two weeks ago, I also suddenly found myself living alone for the first time in my life. That certainly caused a lot of anxiety.. I have to say, the thing I like the least about this situation is sleeping alone. I'm getting used to the other aspects of living in my own apartment (playing my music out loud at 1 am, leaving my stuff a little everywhere, organizing the kitchen my own way, putting up my posters wherever I feel...) but I just don't like being by myself at night. Why? Because I'm prone to nightmares and have an overactive imagination, and I watch too many horror movies. I'm sure that eventually I'll get more comfortable and won't have to sleep with the lights on, hopefully.

Two days ago I also moved into my new apartment. Let's just start afresh. New life, new place, new things to do. I like that idea.
In all sincerity, my apartment is still half-unpacked, an it will never be quite pristine. I can't stand the lack of mess, it feels sterile and lifeless for some reason. It might look like a giant pile of disorganized stuff, but I can tell you that I know where everything is, in every single pile that springs from the floor. I always need a little bit of chaos in my life, it spices things up and makes it more interesting.

 Let's say goodbye to the old place (which was actually really easy to move out of, aside from that couch. That very, very heavy couch.)

Okay! Let's put on some music and get to work getting this new place set up.

Unpacking is going to be fuuuuuuuun. Not.At least I have an almost wide path to weave my way through the apartment now. And some cool lights in front of the window. Also, high slanted ceiling, because I'm on the top floor, right under the roof. It's actually super nice.

And what better to feel at home than some favourite posters? I put my calendar on the wall, and stared at it for a while. Starting to get anxious now. Exactly 15 school days left before the end of the term. SO MUCH TO DO STILL. I won't get much sleep in the weeks leading to December, that's for sure.

On the topic of December, can't wait to take the Christmas tree out of its box! I'll wait until the 1st, I promise.

This place does have one inconvenient: Carpets. Everywhere.
Since my level of clumsiness is well beyond 9000, I'll need to come up with a system to absorb possible spills. There's no point in trying to avoid them, I've only been here two days and I've already spilled macaroni on the beige carpet... Therefore, it is highly improbable that I won't drop more food on the floor by the end of the month.
Luckily, in December I'll be done classes by the 3rd, last assignments are due on the 6th, and I'm staying in Halifax until at least the 13th. I'll have about a week of free time (woaww! free time, such a foreign concept at this point) to make a rag rug. I have a laundry basket full of the fabrics that I dyed last summer in my dyeing class, and they've been dying to become something more than a random collection of samples. Let's put them to use! And they're all natural fibres, mostly cotton. Yay for environmentally friendly! Then, if I feel the urge to clumsily spill my lunch on the floor, I'll be able to do so on something else than that beige carpet.

For now, I'll go back to my crazy schedule, and hope for the best.